Car Booty Craziness!

Well the car boot sale was a reasonable success! I made 77 pound! Unfortunately no one wanted my newly knitted blanket lol a bit of a disappointment there but overall i got rid of all the bits and pieces that i’ve had about the house for ages! So i now have a tidier house! 🙂

I do find boot sales are quite scary places! Everyone wants something for nothing and can be quite aggressive about it! They used to be quite nice friendly places to go but now they’re just full of antique or market dealers which makes the whole experience quite intimidating.

I don’t know how people make a living out of doing boot sales! It always seems a bit too much like hard work…Getting up stupidly early on a Sunday and trying to get everything in the car as well as the hoards of people trying to get at your stuff even before you’ve got out of the car!

Also some people are a bit sneaky! The guy next to me at todays boot sale put his decorating tables up and locked the car while he wandered off to buy other people’s stuff only to come back and put the stuff on his stall and charge double the price!!! I think that’s a bit underhand! Especially when you see families doing it to raise money for things only to be beaten down in price by these professionals and only for them to wander around the fair later and see their stuff on someone elses table!

I don’t think i’ll do another one of them for a while I found it all a bit depressing today! But at least it gave me a bit of spending money for America in September!

This entry was posted in Car Boot Sales, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Car Booty Craziness!

  1. Enas Yorl says:

    I’m glad your sale was a success! 77 pounds should go a fair way here. As for your blanket, people are really funny about art/crafts stuff – they love getting it, but are often unwilling to actually part with any money to purchase it. Oh we’ll happily plunk down a hefty chunk of change on the latest and greatest electro-gizmo that we’ll likely lose/break/get bored with in a couple months but it’s like pulling teeth to get us to cough up even a pittance for a nice hand-crafted something that someone poured hours into.

    Sorry, didn’t mean to get off into a rant. ;-D

    • knitnstitch says:

      I know its so wierd…they’ll pay like £40 for one machine made throw but wont pay £5 for something you made yourself! Rant away i totally agree! 🙂

  2. Stacey says:

    I missed that you were in the UK. I should’ve known from the “mum” comment, but my lingo is totally mixed anymore. Where are you at? My hubs is from N. Ireland.

    But, yes, garage sales/boot sales are insane. I usually end up selling all my crap for pittance, but make out with a few hundred dollars each time. People can be extraordinarily rude too!

    • knitnstitch says:

      Cool N.Ireland is lovely! I’m in South Wales (cold and raining at the moment!!)

      I know i couldn’t believe how rude some people are! I only tend to do them once a year to get rid of all the things that seemed like a good idea to buy at the time lol!

Leave a Reply

